Home Championships Professional Omega Dubai Desert Classic

Omega Dubai Desert Classic


Running since 1989, the Omega Dubai Desert Classic was the first European Tour event to be staged outside European borders and paved the way for the Tour’s transformation into a year-round global competition.

Rich in heritage, it is renowned for its stellar list of past champions including three-time winner Ernie Els, double winners Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy, as well as Seve Ballesteros, Thomas Bjorn, Henrik Stenson and Rafa Cabrera Bello. Sergio Garcia and Danny Willett both used victories in Dubai as a launch pad for Major success at The Masters. Part of the Desert Swing and one of the earliest tournaments on the Race to Dubai calendar, the esteemed $3 million event is often described as the Major of the Middle East.

Staged at Emirates Golf Club’s Majlis course – the first grass course in the region dubbed the “Desert Miracle” when it opened in 1988 – the Karl Litten design, set against the backdrop of an iconic Bedouin tent inspired clubhouse and the city’s glittering skyline, has been the stage for numerous climactic final days over the years.

For more information, please visit here.